July 1 Marks a Day for New Laws in Virginia
Bring your own bottle now allowed under new rules starting Friday.
Hundreds of new laws go into effect in Virginia on July 1.
The new laws range from alcohol (you can now bring your own wine to participating restaurants) to state workers' retirement funds to the school-year calendar (a school district may begin classes before Labor Day if it is surrounded by other districts that already have a waiver from the state to begin school early).
Another notable law: teens found drinking and driving will face harsher penalties, including loss of their license for a year and either a $500 minimum fine or 50 hours of community service. Currently, the punishment is loss of license for six months and a maximum fine of $500.
Several series of special license plates were authorized by this year’s General Assembly, including the tea-party-themed “Don’t Tread On Me” and “In God We Trust” plates.